You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Fri Jan 04 15:35:32 AEDT 2013

Tasmanian Literary Prizes 2013

Judging for the the 2013 Tasmanian Literary Prizes is underway. The shortlists for the prizes will be announced in February 2013 and you can keep informed about the shortlist and about the prestigious announcement event by registering for the arts-e newsbyte

Announcement of the Tasmanian Literary Prizes 2013

Presented by Arts Tasmania and the University of Tasmania as part of Ten Days on the Island
When: 6:00 pm, Friday 22 March 2013
Where: Hobart Town Hall
Cost: Free event
More Information: See the Ten Days on the Island website

Tasmanian Literary Prizes 2013 logo 

The Tasmanian Literary Prizes (formerly the Tasmania Book Prizes) are the Tasmanian State Government’s biennial literary awards, which have existed in various forms since 2001. The prizes celebrate the richness of the Tasmanian literary sector and acknowledge the particular influence that Tasmania has on written work.

While the prizes recognise established writers, with past winners including Richard Flanagan, Robert Dessaix and Nicholas Shakespeare, they have been reimagined for 2013 to ensure that emerging writers are also celebrated and that literary content in its many different forms is valued.

The awards

Tasmania Book Prize

Best book with Tasmanian content in any genre.

This award of $25 000 recognises the influence Tasmania has had on content or perspective.

Margaret Scott Prize

Best book by a Tasmanian writer.utas logo

This $5 000 award is supported by the University of Tasmania.

University of Tasmania Prize 

Best new unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer.

This $5 000 award is supported by the University of Tasmania.

Formerly a prize awarded for excellence in publishing in Tasmania, the University of Tasmania Prize has been reimagined for 2013 as a manuscript prize to highlight the skill, talent and creativity of emerging Tasmanian writers. Writers of theatrical works, literary fiction and non-fiction for adults or children, poetry and graphic novels who have had a limited number of works published have been encouraged to enter.