You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Fri Jan 04 15:52:28 AEDT 2013


Community Road Safety Partnerships


Creating partnerships

Road safety education

Sharing responsibility

Positive local solutions

What is CRSP?

Community Road Safety Partnerships (CRSP) is a "grassroots" road safety program coordinated by the Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources (DIER).

Initially introduced in 2003 to 12 local government authorities (LGAs), DIER has now partnered with 28 LGAs to develop and implement targeted initiatives to address local road safety issues.

Over the years CRSP has been operating successfully addressing local issues aligned to the Tasmanian Road Safety Strategy 2007 - 2016 (TRSS).

Primarily CRSP encourages LGAs and their community networks to get involved in road safety. CRSP supports community networks by skilling people and developing knowledge to deliver better road safety programs.

CRSP Core Approach

The core approach of the CRSP is based upon engaging community networks and personnel to become involved and contribute to the road safety effort.

CRSP helps to organise planned activity, at the local level, targeting high risk behaviors in key focus areas such as speeding, drink driving, inattention/distraction, safer vehicles, safety of young drivers and motorcyclist safety.

Through the CRSP program, DIER stimulates local activity in the focus areas by providing human, physical and financial resources to build community capacity to achieve sustainable road safety outcomes.

To manage and plan the delivery of community road safety activities DIER personnel  link with existing local road safety groups, Police and community liaison committees and community safety organisations.

Communities Involved

as at July 2011

South: Glenorchy, Brighton, Kingborough, Hobart, Glamorgan/Spring Bay, Clarence, Huon Valley, Sorell, Southern Midlands, Tasman, Central Highlands and Derwent Valley (joined May 2011).

North: Launceston, Dorset, George Town, Break O Day, West Tamar, Northern Midlands and Meander Valley.

North West: Burnie, Kentish, Circular Head, Waratah / Wynyard, King Island, Devonport, Central Coast, West Coast and Latrobe (joined in June 2011)

Negotiations are currently occurring with Flinders Council to join the CRSP network.

2011 CRSP Progress Report

The 2011 Progress Report is a brief compilation of the key general awareness / education strategies and major activities and events undertaken by participating CRSP communities over the last 2 years.  It has been developed by DIER's Road Safety Operations Branch consultants in conjunction with CRSP community contacts.


  • Community Snapshots
    • Break O Day
    • Brighton
    • Burnie
    • Central Coast Council
    • Central Highlands
    • Circular Head
    • Clarence
    • Devonport
    • Dorset
    • George Town
    • Glamorgan Spring Bay
    • Glenorchy
    • Hobart (Road Safety South)
    • Huon Valley (Road Safety South)
    • Kentish
    • King Island
    • Kingborough (Road Safety South)
    • Launceston
    • Meander Valley
    • Northern Midlands
    • Sorell
    • Southern Midlands
    • Tasman
    • Waratah-Wynyard
    • West Coast
    • West Tamar

Progress Report, (PDF)

Who to Contact?

For more information about CRSP contact:

Geoff Frier, Project Manager
Ph: 62 334861

Or contact the Road Safety Operations Branch:

South            Ph: 6233 6643
North            Ph: 6336 2115
North West    Ph: 6434 6490