You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Wed Jun 14 14:18:18 AEST 2017
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Community and Providers


DoE Awards Program

RBF Banner 

Abou​​t the Awards

The Department of Education values its people and their contribution to our high quality education system, which encompasses teaching and learning from early years through to adult learners, the provision of library services, child and family centres, and the expert support of administrative and corporate support staff.

The Department of Education Awards for Excellence (DoE Awards) recognise and reward Department of Education staff and volunteers who have demonstrated outstanding excellence, innovation, and talent in their roles supporting education.

Nominations are open to all staff who were employed in the Tasmanian Department of Education between
1 January 2016 and 1 January 2017, as well as volunteers.

Thanks to the generous support of Tasplan (Major Sponsor) along with Teachers Health, Telstra and Wrest Point, without whom the DoE Awards would not be possible.

Please take a moment to read the Award Guidelines before submitting a nomination.

2017 Awards Guidelines

2017 Awards Nomination Form

Catch up on the 2016 Department of Education RBF Award Winners and Finalists:

finalist videos and photos​​


Scho​ol-Based Awards

Principal of the Year – Early Years and Primary

  • Winner: Monique Carter (Lansdowne Crescent Primary School) 

    Finalists: Troy Roberts (Youngtown Primary School), Sharon Symes (Mowbray Heights Primary School)

Princip​al of the Ye​ar – Secondary

  • Winner: Hamish Cunningham (Woodbridge School) 

    Finalists: Roslyn McGuinness (Bothwell District School), John O’Rourke (Taroona High School)

Teacher of the Year – Early Years and Primary

  • Winner: Lisa Cook (South Arm Primary School)

    Finalists: Brooke Pepper (Woodbridge School), Toni Tarbath (New Town Primary School)

Teacher of the Year – Secondary

  • Winner: Simone Cunliffe (Rosny College)

    Finalists: Susan Oakden (Elizabeth College), Glenn Schultz (Taroona High School)

Teachers Health Fund Outstanding Young Teacher

  • Winner: Alison Harvey (New Norfolk Primary School)

    Finalists: Callum Hollingsworth (Rosny College), Carmel McGee (Riverside Primary School)

Staff​ Supporting Learning Awards

School Business Manager of the Year

  • Winner: Rhonda Turner (Collinsvale Primary School)

​​Finalists: Tanya Smart (Queechy High School), Donna Terry (Campania District School), 

Support Employee of the Year

  • Winner: Bill Parker (Triabunna District School)

    Finalists: Kathy McInerney (Warrane Primary School), Cathy Ransom (Rosny College)

Professional Support Specialist of the Year

  • Winner: Niki Hussain (Campania District School)

    Finalists: Linda Pearn (Student Support, Southern Region), Jane Shearing (Elizabeth College)

Service Awa​rds (Department–based)

Departmental Employee of the Year

  • Winner: Tina Busch (Coordinator Blended Learning, Curriculum Services)

    Finalists: Kris Klasen (Manager, IT Services), Sarah Williams (Manager Strategy and Planning, PLI)

LINC Employee of the Year 

  • Winner: Sabena Lund (Coordinator, Adult Literacy, Smithton LINC)

    Finalists: Sally Stanley (Customer Service Officer, Smithton LINC), Fiona Vagg (Manager, Glenorchy LINC)

Wrest Point Young Departmental Employee of the Year

  • Winner: Alex Silsby (Network Support Officer, Elizabeth College)

​Finalist: Stephen Dodd (Network Support Officer, Learning Services Northern Region), 


Outstanding Team of the Year

  • Winner: George Town Community Hub 

    Finalists: Curriculum Teacher Leaders, teggana Collective

Special Catego​ry Award

Telstra Outstanding Use of Innovation or Technology

  • Winner: Chloe Simons (Teacher, Southern Support School, eLearning)

​Finalists: Stephen Dodge and Luke Yates (Teachers, Elizabeth College),
​Sam Foster-Davies (LINC Tasmania TAHO), 


Commun​ity Award

Volunteers of the Year

  • Winners: Vicki Axton (George Town Child and Family Centre), Jennifer Dare (Clarence Plains Child and Family Centre), Doug McKenzie (Westerway Primary School)


RBF Secretary's ​Award for Overall Excellence:

  • ​Lisa Cook (​​South Arm Primary School)


Past Winners and Finalists 

​Key Dates:

4 May 2017: Nominations open

13 June 2017: Nominations close 

August 2017: Finalists announced

20 October 2017: Winners announced at the Awards Ceremony


Sponsors for the Department of Education Awards for Excellence 2017:

This page has been produced by the Department of Education.
Questions concerning its content may be directed by email to or telephone 1800 816 057.
You are directed to the disclaimer and copyright notice and a Personal Information Protection statement governing the information provided.